

Dear Colleagues,

It is our great pleasure to announce that the 3rd COSPAR Symposium will be held in International Convention Center (ICC) JEJU, Jeju islands, South Korea, from 18th to 22nd September 2017.

Relatively small satellites and payloads have been developed rapidly over the past few decades, and their application in various areas of space research has been of growing interest. Recently, the number of nano- to micro-satellites including the level of one to a few hundred kilograms has increased significantly. While many space phenomena include a wide range of temporal and/or spatial behaviors in vastly different areas, they can be studied with similar, coordinated experiments with a group of satellites. Low cost satellites now allow missions of multiple satellites more often, and technical progress in scientific payloads can maintain advanced resolution in time and amplitude.

The symposium program is designed to cover the wide scope of space research under the theme "Small Satellites for Space Research". The keynote, plenary and interdisciplinary talks will provide insight into space research with small satellite platforms, and the three parallel sessions are designed for several scientific and technical sessions,

Atmosphere & Climate Change Planet and Small Bodies Heliosphere and Magnetosphere Planetary Protection Life Science in Space

Satellite Dynamics Radiation Belt Environment Enabling Technology

Earth-Moon System Upper Atmosphere and Ionosphere Astrophysics from Space Fundamental Physics in Space

Sub-Satellite Orbit (Ballooning) Space Weather Space Exploration

On behalf of host organizations and supporters including The Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute, The Korean Space Science Society, Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning, and COSPAR, we cordially invite all of you to the beautiful Jeju Islands, a UNESCO-designated World Natural Heritage! We also would like to invite interested organizations and companies to co-sponsor the symposium and possibly contribute to the exhibition.

Important Dates:

30 Oct. 2016	Symposium Homepage Open
31 Mar. 2017	Abstract Submission Deadline
18-22 Sept. 2017	3 rd COSPAR Symposium

7 Nov. 2016 30 Jun. 2017 Web page Open for Abstract Submission Early Registration Deadline

Venue: International Convention Center Jeju (ICC Jeju) is located in the Jungmun Tourist Complex where all tour-related infrastructures and amenities are ready for conference participants to assure both comfort and convenience. ICC Jeju is a resort-style convention facility including convention halls, conference rooms and event halls.

Host City:

Jeju is the world's first triple crown designation by UNESCO in the fields of nature and science - Biosphere Reserve, World Natural Heritage, and Geoparks. With excellent natural beauty, top-class facilities for conventions, and a range of lodging facilities, Jeju Island is an ideal place for the Third COSPAR Symposium. Jeju Island is located at the center of Northeast Asia and connected with various nonstop and stopover flights. The status of a Free International City allows visitors from 180 countries to enter the island without a visa for up to 30 days and ensures duty free privileges.

More Information: Symposium webpage: http://cospar.kasi.re.kr/cospar-symposium-2017 Venue(ICC JEJU): http://www.iccjeju.co.kr/EN/Main Jeju Tourism: http://www.ijto.or.kr/english/

Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC): Dong-Hun Lee (Chair, Kyung Hee Univ., Korea) Kohei Arai (Saga Univ., Japan) Maurice Borgeaud (ESA/ESRIN, Italy) Jong-Chul Chae (Seoul Nat. Univ., Korea) Chul-Sung Choi (KASI, Korea) Young-Jun Choi (KASI, Korea) K.-H. Glassmeier (TUB, Germany) Manuel Grande (Aberystwyth Univ., UK) Regina Lee (York Univ., Canada) Vincent Maget (ONERA, France) Yong Ha Kim (ChungNam Nat. Univ., Korea) Mariano Mendez (Univ. of Groningen, Netherlands) Dibyendu Nandi (IISER, India) Young-Deuk Park (KASI, Korea) Il-Heung Park (Sungkyunkwan Univ., Korea) Rudolf von Steiger (ISSI, Switzerland) Pietro Ubertini (IAPS/INAF, Italy) Shufan Wu (IAM of CAS, China) Hajime Yano (JAXA, Japan) Kwanjung Yee (Seoul Nat. Univ., Korea) Tetsuya Yoshida (JAXA, Japan) Qiugang Zong (Peking Univ., China) Thomas Zurbuchen (NASA/SMD, USA)

Peter Chi (UCLA, USA) Loren Chang (Nat. Central Univ., Taiwan) Shuanggen Jin (SAO, China) Woong-Seob Jeong (KASI, Korea) Takuji Nakamura (NIPR, Japan) George Parks (UC Berkeley, USA) Abigail Sheffer (NAS, USA) Othon Winter (Sao Paulo State Univ., Brazil) Andrew Yau (Univ. of Calgary, Canada) Dae-Ok Youn (ChungBuk Nat. Univ., Korea)

Local Organizing Committee (LOC): Jong-Uk Park (Chair, KASI) Ho-Il Kim (Advisor, KASI) Byung-Kyu Choi (KASI) Young-Sil Kwak (KASI) Joo-Hee Lee (KARI) Hona-Kvu Moon (KASI)

Chuna-Won Lee (Advisor, MSIP) Geonhwa Jee (KOPRI) Dae-Hee Lee (KASI) Kyoung-Suk Lee (KASI)

Kyung Suk Cho (KASI) Woong-Seob Jeong (KASI) JaeJin Lee (KASI) Seo-Gu Lee (KASI)

Please circulate this announcement to your colleagues who may be interested in this information!

HOSTED BY

Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute

The Korean Space Science Society



COMMITTEE ON SPACE RESEARCH

SUPPORTED BY

Ministry of Science, ICT